Opposite the Tobolsk Kremlin is the building of the men’s religious school. As an educational institution, it was founded at the beginning of the 18th century under Metropolitan Philotheus (Leshchinsky) under the name of the bishop’s school. Under Metropolitan Anthony II (Narozhnitsky), a theological seminary was founded. Then the seminary and school were transferred from the bishop’s compound to the Lower Posad, to the Znamensky Monastery.
For the construction of the building of the Tobolsk theological school, the project of the building of the religious school in Ishim was taken as a basis. The ceremonial foundation stone of the building took place on August 26, 1884. The construction was completed in December 1887. On December 5, the consecration of the house church in the name of Nicholas the Wonderworker took place.
In the 1907/08 academic year, 150 pupils studied at the school.
In the spring of 1918, a detachment of the Omsk Red Guards headed by A.F. Demyanov. Here, on April 2, 1918, the Tobolyaks began to enroll in the Red Guard units under the command of Ostyakov.
Then the city vocational school was located here. Now the building has been transferred to the Tobolsk-Tyumen diocese.
Address: Tobolsk,. S. Remezova st. 2a