The preserved Bishop’s House is the fifth residence of bishops in the Sofia Courtyard. It was built in 1775 according to a project sent from St. Petersburg, and was the first Siberian civil building made in the style of classicism. The building has survived to this day almost unchanged.

Until 1918, the house served as the residence of the Tobolsk archbishops and metropolitans. From 1925 to 2007, it housed the Tobolsk Museum, one of the oldest and richest museums in Siberia. At present, the working residence of the Metropolitan of Tobolsk and Tyumen is located here again, and the Museum of the History of Orthodoxy in Siberia is opened on the first floor.