From the moment of joining the Russian state, the Voguls and Ostyaks were included in the sphere of active trade relations with the Russian people. In the XVIII-XIX centuries. In Tobolsk there was a production center for the production of silver dishes for the needs of foreigners. On the plan of Tobolsk, made by S.U. Remezov at the end of the 17th century, at the foot of Troitsky Cape, on which the Kremlin stands, silver rows are shown. The main customers of the silversmiths were the Tobolsk bishops, on whose behalf silver crosses and chalices were sent to Siberian churches and monasteries – the necessary attributes of the divine service. In 1723 a provincial magistrate was opened in Tobolsk, which united the Tobolsk silversmiths in workshops. In 1757 the position of the assay master for Tobolsk was approved.
In the hallmarks of silver items made in Tobolsk in the 1770s, there are names of masters composed of Latin letters. These are the names of the masters of the Polish Confederates who found themselves in exile in Tobolsk. However, most of the craftsmen were Russian.
The names of Tobolsk craftsmen who worked in 1780-1790 are known; in the files of the Tobolsk archive by the Tobolsk craft council in 1788, a list of silversmiths was given, which included 11 people from the burghers, 12 from the guilds. In 1806 the number of silversmiths was reduced to 19 people, in 1809 there were 7 masters from the burghers from the guild 5 people and two apprentices, in 1819 silver forges were only “at the guild Pyotr Bryukhanov, the unserviceable invalid Yakov Shvyrev, the coachman Yakov Sterkhov”.
Unfortunately, few items left by the silver workshops of Tobolsk have survived to this day. A small group of Tobolsk silver items – saucers and oval and rectangular plates – was discovered by the staff of the Subpolar Ethnographic Detachment of the Institute of Archeology and Ethnography of the SB RAS in 1983–2013. in the home shrines of the Khanty and Mansi. The largest number of newly found items bears the stamp of the master Pyotr Bryukhanov on the obverse. Before our finds of the recognized work of Bryukhanov, the body-worn icon “The Mother of God of the Sign” was known (on the back there are stamps: the coat of arms of the Tobolsk province, 1794, PB. It is kept in the funds of TGIAMZ). It turned out that in a number of other museums there are items with the PB master’s mark, which no one attributed.