The Tobolsk Gate is one of the oldest buildings in the Omsk fortress. This is the only fortress gate that has survived to this day. They were built in 1791-1793 in the late Baroque style. Having passed through them, one could get to the pier on the Irtysh, where numerous ships arrived from Tobolsk. In the middle of the 19th century, the gate was restored and acquired the features of classicism. They remained in this form until the 20th century, their appearance was replicated on various postcards. By the end of the 1960s, the gates were badly dilapidated, and Omsk local historians achieved recognition of the Tobolsk Gate as a historical monument of all-Russian significance. The reconstruction of the Tobolsk Gate was carried out in 1973. Architects and builders gave the gate a classic look from the early 20th century and painted it white.
Another reconstruction of the Tobolsk Gate was carried out in 2009 within the framework of the federal target program “Culture of Russia”.